Theatre Challenge

19 Aug

London has many things to offer: pubs, sights, museums and.. theatres!

For a few days now, I am constantly bragging about how many theatre performances I want to watch when I am in London and today an interesting thought came to my mind: Would it be possible to watch a performance of every single Shakespeare play (38, not including plays like Double Falsehood which are problematic in terms of authorship) in London in one year?

From late November to early February the Royal Shakespeare Company will be performing 9 Shakespeare plays in London’s Roundhouse Theatre and I would be able to watch 3 plays of this year’s Globe Theatre season in September and early October. This would add up to 12 plays…

I am not sure whether this challenge is possible because I am aware of the problem that some plays are not performed very frequently compared to others. It would probably more likely be possible to watch 15 different Hamlets. Nevertheless, I decided that I am going to try it! I will try to get tickets to each of the 9 RSC performances (which will be difficult anyway) and I will watch the 3 Globe performances. And of course I will keep you updated about my progress in this challenge! Keep your fingers crossed!

P.S.: Whoever comes to London to visit me, is likely to be forced to accompany me to a performance… or alternatively you can wait in the next pub and already pre-order a glass of whiskey for me! Cheers

Plays Seen:

1. The Merry Wives of Windsor – Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre – 7.9.2010

5 Responses to “Theatre Challenge”

  1. Denise August 19, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Ich möchte unbedingt versuchen etwas im Old Vic Theatre zu sehen, weil ich so gerne mal in die heiligen Hallen des Meisters Kevin Spacey möchte. Anscheinend spielen sie auch Shakespeare (sogar unter Regie von Sam Mendes o_O). Da wäre ich also dabei 😉 http://www.oldvictheatre.com/

    • Käthe August 19, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

      Echt? Das mit Sam Mendes muss ich sofort mal googlen. Eine seiner Inszenierungen kam sogar in meiner letzten Hausarbeit vor, weil er einer der wenigen Leute ist, die die Rolle von Queen Margaret in Richard III wirklich zu schätzen wissen 😉

  2. HoldenCaulfield August 23, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Hoi das ist ja mal ein schickes vorhaben!! Da werd ich jetzt schon neidisch nachdem ich es aus mir unerklärlichen Gründen bisher noch nie geschafft hab wenigstens mal im Globe ein Stück zu sehn. (Wobei man auch sagen muss das ich meine Schwester bisher nicht überreden konnte mit zu kommen, sie ist zu faul zum stehn… und allein macht es nur halb so viel Spaß find ich^^)

    • Käthe August 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

      Du bist doch bestimmt im nächsten Jahr mal deine Schwester besuchen. Dann sagst du mir bescheid und wir zwei gehen ins Globe. Dafür bin ich sowieso immer zu haben. 🙂

      • HoldenCaulfield August 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

        Das klingt nach einem guten Plan^^

Leave a Reply

